Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aloha10

TomatoVarieties for roadstand sales.

aloha10
11 years ago

I'm considering selling tomatoes at a stand outside my house next season. Given that I am approaching my mid eighties, that kind of futuristic planning makes me an optimist.

I have been growing mostly heirlooms for 40 years and know how they are bumpy, split, cat faced, and delicious and yet don't sell too well around here.

I am looking for recommendations for two or three hybrid varieties that produce blemish free fruit, give good yields, and taste pretty good. I will also continue to grow a few of my old favorites, but need to go a bit commercial.

Thank you

Comments (10)

• cole_robbie
    11 years ago

"Big Beef" seems to be the most popular answer to your question. Celebrity is another. If you click on the link below, it goes to Semena, who produces several commercial varieties; they're owned by Monsanto.

Good luck with everything. My grandparents are just now turning 80, and they are still market gardeners. I hope to do that well myself.

Here is a link that might be useful: semena's commercial varieties

• little_minnie
    11 years ago

The last hybrid I grew besides Sungold was Goliath. That line is excellent, early, big, productive.

Seminis Seeds is what it is called. I stay away from them with a 10 foot pole.

• randy41_1
    11 years ago

i grew some bhn varieties....one was BHN189 and the other was BHN1021 i think. they produce loads of uniform perfect looking tomatoes that taste good when vine ripened. i sold a lot of them at the farmers market. when people ask the variety i tell them and they usually shrug and fill their bag.

• myfamilysfarm
    11 years ago

I've grown Big Beef for several years now, almost always a good crop with very little 'ugliness'. customers seem to like them also. A good hand full size, not too little, but not the huge 2-hand size. I can pick and hold them easily.