Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
benw523

Produce auctions compares to hunts point market

BenW523
12 years ago

Hi, my name is Ben and I am new to the produce buisness.

I am trying to start a produce buisness and wondering is it cheaper to get produce from amish produce auctions or from terminal markets like hunts point? I also would like to know the qualities and buisness doing differs in both places. I really appreciate your responses and thanks alot!

Comments (15)

• cowpie51
    12 years ago

Ben, are you going to sell out of a storefront? Are you going to grow any of your own produce? Are you going to use Farmers markets? Please give us some more information to work with and maybe somebody on the site can help you. Mark.

• myfamilysfarm
    12 years ago

No matter what venue you will be using to sell, it depends upon if you want to know how much you will be paying before you arrive and what is available. With a broker, like hunts point or any other non-auction place, you will be able to place an order then they will be able to give you a rough idea of how much per item you will pay. With the auction format, no matter who is running it, you will have to pay what the market(at that place/time) will bear. If there is alot of one type of produce, you might be able to get it at a lower price.

I've done both, and if there was a broker close to me, I would use them, at least to determine the prices that I would want to 'beat'.

With my Amish friends, I know that I'm getting fresh picked that day. There are 'English' that sell at my auction, that don't sell fresh picked produce. I've been there long enough to know who is who and how they operate. This takes time and the effort to get to know the people selling.

Your choice is up to you, and being new to the business, you will learn it over several years.

Marla

• BenW523
    Original Author
    12 years ago