Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
billtex

best selling herbs

billtex
18 years ago

Which herbs are your best sellers ? I am going to try selling a few in 2006 but not sure which ones sell the best. thanks in advance. bill in texas

Comments (8)

• HerbLady49
    18 years ago

I've been growing and retailing herb plants since 1989. Your basic herbs will always be your best sellers. Basil is number one, Flat leaf parsley, Onion Chives, English Thyme, Greek or Italian Oregano, Rosemary. These are just a few to try so you can get a feel for what sells best. If it works you can expand from there. Basil, Parsley and Chives I grow from seed. Don't be stingy when seeding so you can give your customer a nice full pot or pack. I generally seed 10-15 seeds/plug. I propagate Thyme, Oregano and Rosemary by taking cuttings. Try buying them wholesale for this year. If they do well you can order plugs or take you own cuttings.

• billtex
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Herblady, thanks for info,a whole bunch, especially about the way you seed pots. thanks again. bill in tx.

• edwoodtick
    18 years ago

bill we have been selling herbs at our farm market for three years the most comman to start with . we buy plugs and flats , sell in three inch pots and herb planters also signage is very important, some people wont ask what it is . but when they know they buy good luck think spring ed in michigan

• billtex
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks edwoodtick, can you give me a good source for plugs,appreciate help..bill in tex.

• Betz11
    18 years ago

Last year I decided to try selling herbs at our market and was quite successful. I had Rosemary, sage, thyme, oregano, savory, lovage, parsley, chives, and basil. I started them all from seed except the Rosemary, which I started from cuttings.