Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cherylspenc

Lettuce Varieties

cherylspenc
19 years ago

I am just starting out in market gardening, and would like some advice on varieties of lettuce to stay away from. I know that geography comes into play here, but would at least like to hear about other people's experiences with varieties that didn't work for them, and why they didn't work out.

Comments (3)

• Patty_WI
    19 years ago

I started last year at market and the leaf lettuce and butterhead types went over really well. I sold some cos as baby heads, but after the baby stage they bolted. So, I would stay away from those unless offering babies. Also, at my market the curly endive didn't go over well. Sweat lettuce was what everybody wanted. But maybe your market is different? Good luck!
    Patty

• tbronson
    19 years ago

As a small and new-from-scratch grower (2 acres), too, with a couple of seasons of experience, I agree with Patty_WI about leaf and butterhead being great, easy basics, and cos/romaine being harder to grow to maturity. Romaine and also crisphead (the crunchy head lettuce in supermarkets, for some people, that's all they know and want) take more time, attention, water, right weather. Harvesting baby and small leaves, and faster growing leaf lettuces in general, has been no problem, without dedicated irrigation, right through summer in variable weather.

Also, of course, there's mesuclun/baby leaf salad mix. It uses up more seed, but it goes for more, grows fast and easy, and probably covers a good percentage of your salad customers who'd otherwise buy other lettuce. You can also cut it a bit later with bigger leaves and it's a...salad mix. (I ended up growing quite a lot of all-lettuce mesclun, because flea beetles go straight to the brassicas -- mustards, kale, etc -- that're otherwise great in the mix, they pepper them with little holes if you don't use row cover from the start (unless you spray chemicals, yuck), so more work.)