Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
randy41_1

interns

randy41_1
10 years ago

anyone have any experience or thoughts on this? it looks like i'll be working alone for the most part unless i get one. i have an extra room in my house to board one and i'll pay a small stipend. i've had people working here before and if i pay a living wage to someone full or almost full time there's not much left for me. the intern would have to also go to one of the markets.

Comments (16)

• myfamilysfarm
    10 years ago

A living wage doesn't work out to being able to turn a profit with the prices that we can get. Sorry I don't have any experience with interns. I wasn't able to find anyone, outside of family (adult kids and younger) to help us.

When we offered $10 per hour for part-time, as need, nobody was interested. Minimum wage here is only $7.25.

• Mark
    10 years ago

I was an intern/apprentice 18 years ago on a farm and i've also worked on farms that had interns. This coming season i'm looking to bring in one or two, so I think we're in a similar situation Randy.
    Let me know what kind of info you want to know and i'll do my best to help out.
    -Mark

• boulderbelt
    10 years ago

I generally don't pay interns as they are usually working for an education. But when you don't pay $10 an hour (about 3x more than either my husband or I make an hour with 20 years exp) they tend to not show up. But if I pay them a living wage ($10 an hour) than the farm goes into debt. Especially considering most people who come to work for us are not worth $2 ah hour for several months as they are slow, don't know what to do and make mistakes that sometimes cost us a lot of money.

There are now colleges that charge kids $10K a semester to learn to farm and I am leaning that way. Why not charge folks to come and work on the farm and learn a bunch of skills?