Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrs_b_in_wy

What plants go over well at your sales?

mrs.b_in_wy
13 years ago

Hello all,

I'm a MG intern, hoping to graduate this fall/winter. The plant sale is May 21, and I'm looking for ideas for things to take.

There are a few things from our yard that might be appreciated (i.e. rooted cuttings from grapes, the Russian flowering almond, Bittersweet, etc.), but I have more veggie varieties than anything (mainly tomatoes, peppers and squash). I've also learned over and over that my idea of wonderful isn't everyone's idea of wonderful. For example, my dear friend admitted she threw away her Black Cherry tomatoes because "they didn't look right."

We've been assured that anything we want to bring that is healthy and not too young will be happily accepted, but I'm interested in others' experiences about what has been popular at your own sales.

Thanks so much for any input!

Comments (20)

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    13 years ago

Almost anything in bloom will sell. I always(when available)bring plants not found in the usual nurseries. I always go along with my plants to answer questions regarding plants not generally familiar. All my plants offered are in at least one gallon nursery pots. To have plants available I have to start a year ahead. Al

• nmgirl
    13 years ago

Cheap ones. Our buyers seem fairly indiscriminate and want bargains.
    For some reason grasses, cacti, agaves and other xeric plants are traditionally poor sellers. Which is a shame since that's what we need to grow here. It tells me most of our customers are new to the area and have no idea what to plant.
    We sometimes have luck with herbs. We're considering offering 3 gallon pots of herbs, esp. basil, this next sale. Have 2-3 healthy plants per pot and no planting involved. The customer can take it home and use it as is. We're hoping it'll go over well with apartment/condo/no yard/small yard people.

• zuni
    12 years ago