Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
keilamarie_gw

Finding the correct information

keilamarie
18 years ago

Hello,

First time I'm stepping into this forum but I figured, you really want to know ask the "Masters". I'm new at gardening and still learning the basics. Here's the problem:

As I plan and choose plants I first look them up to see if they would be right match for my garden (the right conditions), how they wll grow and how they look when mature. When I do this I find even the most basic information differs from place to place. Such as salvia, I've read it is a nice shade plant but then I look it up somewhere else and it says full sun!

Is there a place of information about all or alot of plants that gives the correct information about their basic needs? It's kind of making me crazy, lol.

I understand many would suggest an edu. type site but I have tired and since I'm new at gardening it's too over my head to understand so on top of looking for the correct info I'm also looking for one a newbie can understand.

Thank you in advance,

Keilamarie

Comments (7)

• gardener_sandy
    18 years ago

I can't give you one site that is totally reliable for every answer but I would suggest your check with your local extension office for guidance. The problem you're encountering is widespread and I've run into it more times than I can recall.

One thing to learn about is micro-climates. I live firmly in zone 7 but I can grow zone 8 plants in a foundation bed on the south side of my house. It's warmer there and more protected so plants with zone 8 requirements do well there. But on the northern side in the shade I've lost zone 7 plants from cold!