Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardenmaker79

composting

gardenmaker79
18 years ago

Does anyone in here do there own composting? I would like to start but dont even know where to start. Does it need to be put in the sun or shade? I dont want to start to big since its my first try at it. I have heard you can use old palets for the outsides. Has anyone tryed that and how did it work? Any information would be greatly appreated.

Thanks gardenmaker79

Comments (12)

• napapen
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Your best bet is to go to the soils,compost forum or the vericomposting form for all kinds of information. Actually while easy, it would take pages to explain for different situations.

Penny

• oscarthecat
    18 years ago

I think your idea of using pallets is good. I just throw in a layer of material. sprinkle with ground limestone, another layerof material, sprinkle some cheap fertilizer and continue on. youmight want to think of two bins, you could be using one while building the second. Enjoy, steve in baltimore

• ironbelly1
    18 years ago

Not quite fast!

As a Master Gardener, I like to give information for both sides to a question and let the gardener makes an informed decision. While Penny's suggestion has some merit, this topic is a many-faceted stone.

In my case, maintaining a compost pile would be a waste of valuable time that could be better spend on other endeavors -- and that is just what I do. You won't find a compost pile at my house. I had one in the past. However, I soon realized the folly.