Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sky351

How do you start you're Seedlings?

Sky351
19 years ago

Good Morning...

Thought I would share my first two years of seed starting ideas! The first year was in my kitchen, just bought a shelving unit and had my husband hard wire the lights for me. I donÂt use special bulbs; and it seems to work fine.

This year I knew I needed more room *Smile*! Still being a newbie I didnÂt want to build a greenhouse. So I figured would use the second bay in our garage. We have an oil furnace as a back up and a barrel wood stove for heat. So this is what I came up with. I really think it will be more than adequate for what I want.

Would love to see what the rest of you have come up withÂ

Be Well

Bev

Last Year

{{gwi:1041671}}
This Year

{{gwi:1041672}}

{{gwi:1041674}}

Comments (14)

• maineman
    19 years ago

Bev,

In your bottom picture it looks like most of the light is coming from a window. Is that an illusion, or do you have a sunlit window? Our plants are currently in the kitchen area, although I am insulating our breezeway preparatory to moving our plant stands out there. I will try to post some pictures in a later message.

MM

• Sky351
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Yes there are window's in the garage door but only the one panel. We also have plastic on the outside of the garage door, and we open it and get alot more natural sunlight in. It just wasn't opened when I took the picture. Can't wait to see you're pic's.

Be Well
    Bev

• lilyroseviolet
    19 years ago

I am very spoiled and have actual greenhouses complete with monitored controlled heat and water. I could easily grow year round if My Groom would stay and winter in Maine instead of being a heat seeker to Warmer country parts.

The few years I was able to grow year round I still used artifical light to help the process. Actually even a simple 60 watt bulb worked and higherwattage worked well too.