Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
corvettelth

Starting plants inside?

corvettelth
15 years ago

So I am new to gardening this year. I am planting summer squash zuccini watermelon cantalope carrots tomatoes pumpkins green beans. I heard that a lot of people start their plants inside that way you can harvest in time. I was wondering when I should start them and takign care of them inside. Thank you for any help you can provide.

Comments (2)

• lotsa_rocks
    15 years ago

Of all the veggies you mention, the only one I have ever started inside is tomatoes. I started tomatoes on Friday, which is earlier than ever for me. I usually put tomatoes out in the garden end of May, so I will be growing these inside about 2 months under shop lights.

I have always started the rest of those veggies from seed directly in the garden. But (see thread about Hubbard squash) it is probably possible to start winter squash/pumpkins inside too. Check out the Vegetable Gardening forum, there is a lot of good advice there. Good luck with your first garden!

• megmaine
    15 years ago

I would really encourage you to check out the Seed Starting forum here on GardenWeb, and also the Canadian Winter Sowing forum, because that's where you'll get the best how to's, and for the light setups and so on, a picture is worth a thousand words, and many people have given pictures of how they set up fluorescents on shelves for a lot less money than "grow" lights...
    Starting seeds indoors in Maine without fluorescents can be tricky because all it takes is a week of overcast Spring weather when you don't have a window with full all-day sun, and then your seedlings get tall and leggy, reaching and bending way over to get what sun they can, and when that happens, they never make good healthy plants, even if they survive.