Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fred_in_maine

Vegetables that grow well in Maine?

Fred_in_Maine
17 years ago

I do not know very much about vegetable gardening. From what I have read it appears that not all cukes, tomatoes, squash, etc. are the same. Some do better in Maine than others. Can anyone suggest good varieties for a vegetable garden Newbie?

In my partial sun/shade garden I am thinking:

Lettuce

Spinach

Radish

Carrots

Scallions (in the sunniest section)

Kale

Kohlrabi

Any other suggestions???

In my sun garden (10 to 11 hours of sun per day) I am thinking:

Tomatoes and more tomatoes

Cucumbers

Peppers

Summer Squash

Winter Squash

Pumpkin

Watermelon

Beans

Herbs

Sunflowers

Any other suggestions???

I deeply appreciate any advise on varieties you might recommend as I have very little knowledge and even less experience.

Thank you, Fred

Comments (21)

• maineman
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Fred,

For your sun garden you might want to consider eggplants and strawberries. Okra are doable if you start them early. We usually grow some Super Sugar Snap Peas on the fence/trellis. They tolerate cool weather.

MM

• veilchen
    17 years ago

There are so many varieties to try, you just need to experiment and see which ones grow well for you and taste best. I have tried countless varieties of so many vegetables over the years, I have found it is more a matter of learning how to grow each particular vegetable in our climate rather than trying to find which variety of seed grows best. The varieties I end up choosing over and over again are the ones that taste the best to me.

How much sun does your partial shade bed get? There are no vegetables that can tolerate a lot of shade.