Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
normathenewbie

which seeds are best to use?

normathenewbie
16 years ago

I haven't purchased any seeds yet and not sure which ones work best for this area. I live in the Bath area if that helps. lol. I don't know what zone that is. this is my first year at attempting a veg. garden. Not sure if certain brands like Burpees seeds or what not are better than others. if you have some suggestions it would be wonderful

thanks

Comments (38)

• robin_maine
    16 years ago

Zone doesn't matter if you're not growing in the winter. I'm linking to zone info below. Most seed companies don't grow their own seed, they buy from warehouses. One particular supplier controls more than 80% of the seed supply. Brand name doesn't matter much since they're coming from the same place unless you seek out a company that specifically grows their own seeds.

Here is a link that might be useful: USDA Hardiness Zones Explained

• adirondackgardener
    16 years ago

I've been ordering from Johnnys for years, even though until this year I lived in Northern NY. This year I ordered a lot from Fedco too, also located right here in Maine. I like the ethical stand Fedco has taken by refusing to buy any more seeds from Seminis, the Monsanto-owned corporation. Johnnys is also phasing out or has phased out Seminis seeds from their offerings.

If you are opposed to genetically modified seeds or Monsanto's corporate philosophies, this makes them among the best sources of seeds.

Wayne

• maineman
    16 years ago

Wayne,

"If you are opposed to genetically modified seeds or Monsanto's corporate philosophies, this makes them among the best sources of seeds."

I'm beginning to wonder if genetically modified organisms (GMO seed) in seed catalogs is just an urban legend.