Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cindyroseob

plant swap idea

cindyroseob
14 years ago

We've all talked about trying to get a plant swap together in Maine...what if we posted what we each have extra to give away, and if someone is interested, and lives nearby, we could connect? I don't have a lot of extra stuff, since I just moved a year and a half ago, I'm just starting out again, but I've got some moss phlox(white and lavender) that I could easily give some pieces away if someone was interested. It spreads pretty quickly. I live in Windham and work in Scarborough.

Comments (22)

• diene
    14 years ago

I am not opposed to the idea but getting together would also be fun. I am in Saco and have lots of daylilies that will need to be thinned but not until after they bloom. First, I have no idea what they are (not good with labels) and second I want to enjoy them this year.
    I have several hostas that I keep splitting and they just keep expanding, several bleeding hearts the same. Not sure what else but anytime I have been involved in a swap on the round robin forum, I just wander my yard and dig.

diene

• cindyroseob
    Original Author
    14 years ago

I think it would be fun to get together too! I love sharing and receiving perennials- it's the best way to expand your garden without breaking the bank. Also, I like having the memory of whoever gave you that plant, every time you tend it.

• evaf555
    14 years ago

Please may I join you? Hollis Center, hosta, daylilies, ajuga, creeping Jenny.

• lotsa_rocks
    14 years ago

I'd come to a get together down 'south', I am a bit north of Brunswick. I have some Bachelor's Button (mine is white with blue/purple center), Forget-me-nots, mums (sort of a rust color, very hardy), and some very nice multicolor (purple/yellow/white) iris that are just opening up. Would love some creeping phlox and possibly some hosta.

• diene
    14 years ago