Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tmcclure_gw

Poor Tomatoe Crop

tmcclure
18 years ago

Hi Everyone

I am new to gardening. This is my second season. This year I added a variety of plum tomatoes to my list. I planted them in containers. Here it is the last day of July and I may get one tomatoes from every other plant. The plants have very few leaves and only a few flowers. Is this because of the rainy June we had?

Comments (6)

• aprilwhirlwind
    18 years ago

I planted tomatoes my first 2 years in my Maine garden. One year I had a warm summer and a bumper crop, the next year I had very little.
    I live in Kennebunk east of the turnpike, it's sometimes much cooler here than in Wells or even West Kennebunk. Sometimes by as much as 15 or 20 degrees! Tomatoes like heat. One year I had no tomatoes until September, and small ones at that. A friend just 15 minutes away had an overabundance of them.
    I used to great huge tomato crops in PA.

• robin_maine
    18 years ago

Do you have drainage holes in the containers? How's the soil?

• veilchen
    18 years ago

I have had no tomatoes yet. I have a cluster type that was growing in the greenhouse up until yesterday, and the tomatoes are just starting to turn from green to yellow. My others are a late-season heirloom, of which any tomatoes started are still a hard green. Not seeming very productive this year either.

Maybe a bad (or late) year for tomatoes? I'm sure the cold, wet spring and early summer was no good for them. I have, however, harvested eggplant and peppers since 2 weeks ago.

• mainerose
    18 years ago

We harvested our first cherry tomatos yesterday, but the larger varieties have a ways to go. We're just praying for a nice warm August! And yes---June really retarded a lot of things in our garden.

• maineman
    18 years ago