Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
franklin66

What to grow in my new greenhouse.

Franklin66
19 years ago

Hi Folks...hope to put the plastic on my new greenhouse in the next few days...it's a kit from Gardeners Supply out of Burlington Vermont...12'by 24'. I plan to use it as a season extender...and not heat it in the winter. Would like some ideas on what I could grow for veggies between now and when real cold weather sets in. This is my first time using a GH. Franklin

Comments (8)

• gardengardengardenga
    19 years ago

tomatoeseedlings...I have some which are 2 years old in my greehouse.
    lettuce, spinach, peas, beans, patatoes, cucumbers. herbs, mint, and theres more but my brain is shutting down.
    Since you have extended your season with a greenhouse I would garden like those who garden in the Virginia area perhaps? Go to one of their forums and lurk around.

• pennsylvania_pete
    19 years ago

If you're looking to farm in there, plant some things that don't need a lot of heat. 1 plant of a hundred things is not a good way to do it until you learn what your greenhouse climate is. Keep in mind that good air circulation is as important as any heat you may be trying to capture. Lettuce is easy, but also prone to aphids. You could really extend your season if you pick plants like Brussel sprouts that can take heavy frost without turning into a brown worthless plant. The other members of the Cole crops are also useful (cauliflower, brocolli, etc). Leafy greens and radishes are quick and will grow in cool soil.

Since you will gain about one zone, even without heat, when you see us planting outside, it will be time for you to sow indoors (springtime). If you heat it even a little, you will be surprised at the gain. Mine is glass (poorer insulation than a double wall plastic), and I figure that the temps have to drop to very low 20's F (about 22°F) before it would freeze inside. So even without heat, I gain about 10 degrees F.

• chicken_lady
    19 years ago