Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bberry_gw

Who has Grapes in Maine

bberry_gw
16 years ago

How about a few notes from anyone growing grapes in Maine. What types do you grow? What are the difficulties?

I have seen a few around but not many especially in Washington County.

Thanks

Comments (9)

• paulaj
    16 years ago

Hi,

I have Lakemont and Concord, both are doing well. I am new to grapes though, and further south than you, so try looking on the Fruit forum for more info.

• lilyroseviolet
    16 years ago

I grow Concord, makes a great grape jelly. My grape vines are about 12 years old and have been transplanted to different locations and once out of the ground in bare root and peat for a year twince in its life time too, grapes are amazingly resilent for me.

If I remeber I will ask my husband what kinds he grows. there is a white grape and I cant remember the name of it.

• cybertrek
    16 years ago

There were a couple of neglected 50+ year old Concord type black slip-skin grapevines on the southern Maine property I purchased in 2000 that I have tried to "bring back". lack of full day sun makes ripening iffy with indian summer needed to achieve good sugar levels. I also have fungal and insect attacks every year that I don't really fight. That being said I do get a small harvest every year and could be making jam/jelly. Usually we just eat whatever is ripe out of hand as we pass by and throw the sour ones to the chickens at the end of the season. And they do look nice on the arbor I built for them.

• eden_in_me
    16 years ago