Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mainerose

Why Can't I Grow Hollyhocks?

mainerose
17 years ago

I've planted seed, I've planted seedlings, but I just can't seem to grow them :( This year I purchased 4 plants from Longfellow's in Augusta in late June. Planted them in a sunny location, good rich soil, fertilized regularly, no bug problems---I don't think they've grown 4 inches since I put them in the ground! I love these plants and over the years have tried them in several different locations with no success. They seem to grow like weeds for other people. What am I doing wrong?

Comments (9)

• maineman
    17 years ago

mainerose,

I am not experienced growing hollyhocks and have never tried them in Maine.

Here is some hollyhock information.

Since hollyhocks don't normally bloom until the second year, the trick here in Maine is getting them to survive over the winter when our soil is frozen as hard as a brick.

MM

• goinnorth
    17 years ago