Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
josie_2

White patches

josie_2
19 years ago

Help! I do not know what this is,but,I have 2 long patches of white stuff growing on new soil and some of it has started growing on a newly planted Potentilla mound.I have been watering this area too frequently as I almost killed the little bush before I re-read the watering instructions.I'm just starting out and want to be a serious gardener,and need your expert help so very much.Can you help me Please? Thanks Josie _2

Comments (6)

• Franklin66
    19 years ago

Hi Josie 2....your frequent watering has probably gotten alittle mold growing...let your plant dry out for a week or so...and see how the soil surface looks. Ya don't need to water much more then once a week if ya don't get a natural rain. A good general gardening book...and one on soil buildin' is a good way to start yourself in gardenin'...:-) if ya make a mistake or two...don't sweat it...just keep on keepin' on...:-) and this forum will be a big help to you also...Franklin

• josie_2
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Hi Franklin,thank you for the advice.I'm glad its just mold.I'm going to dig it off and certainly cut way back on the watering.Will get some decent gardening books this weekend.Right now I have to move a huge mound of sandy dirt.I had put a lilac,some lily's and Dahlias on it.
    Then one evening I saw the tail end of a snake going into one of the holes in it!!!.I have transplanted all to a safe area.Regards Josie_2

• Grammie_ME
    19 years ago

I'm not a snake fan, but we coexist nicely because I'm certain that the snakes eat slugs. I live near you (Southport)in a coastal area and mulch religiously, prime conditions for slugs. The slug population declines noticibly in mid-June when the snakes appear.

• josie_2
    Original Author
    19 years ago