Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pilemonkey

Generic veggie planting help

pilemonkey
19 years ago

I am new to gardening and hoping those of you who are not can help me out a bit....I live in New Gloucester and recently put in two 4'x4' raised beds with the intent of planting veggies in the spring. I am not sure where to proceed from here, though. I would like to plant carrots, spinach, small (cherry or grape size) tomatoes, lettuce, maybe beets and i am not sure what else. does anyone have any suggestions for what particular types of the above to plant? also, any additions i should consider to the above list? bear in mind my thumb doesn't have the slightest shade of green in it (yet) AND i am working with (2) 4'x4' beds.

many thanks

Comments (11)

• The_Dollmaker
    19 years ago

You are lucky because you live right near Pinetree Garden Seeds. They can help choose the best varieties for this area. They have at least one Certified Master Gardener on staff.

Here is a link that might be useful: Pinetree Garden Seeds

• pilemonkey
    Original Author
    19 years ago

wow, i guess i do. i just visited their website and i will give them a call.

thank you

• gardengardengardenga
    19 years ago

You may want to try some garlic, you would plant that right now before the ground freezes, mulch with about 6 inches of straw to kkep weeds now next season.

In addition to your other choices, you may want to try is potatoes in the spring as these 2 crops grow well in Maine!

• veilchen
    19 years ago