Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bzemomrn

harvesting corn

bzemomrn
19 years ago

I am new to growing corn in the veggie garden? Any tips on the best time to harvest (without counting calendar days) and keeping the worms from getting to the corn before me?

Comments (7)

• veilchen
    19 years ago

I have heard of people applying a few drops of mineral oil when the silks form to keep the worms off. Don't know if it works or not.

I will be growing a small patch of corn this year for the first time.

• maineman
    19 years ago

bzemomrn,

Year before last we made a serious attempt at corn by starting a lot of corn plants indoors in 1-liter pots (made from the bottom 60% of 2-liter soft drink bottles) and set them out in six staggered plantings, hopefully for an extended harvest. We staggered our planting times indoors so that all of our plants were 12 to 16 inches tall when we set them out.

Even in the relatively large pots, the plants were quite root bound when we set them out. The clear sides of the pots let you see the root development in good detail. Corn grows rapidly indoors or out, so the root-bound situation is unavoidable. That's not necessarily a bad thing because the root-bound rootball holds together very well and, after a little "kneeding" of the pot (the soft drink pots are nicely flexible), the whole rootball falls out of the pot nicely intact, even better than a commercial peat pot because there is nothing at all to impede the roots from growing directly into the soil.