Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marthacr

looking for the hardiest pansies

marthacr
18 years ago

I want to begin raising pansies. Something I have never tried before. Those of you who do, what variety has been the hardiest for you. I'm looking for the larger ones, not the tiny johnny jump ups. I want to be able to winter them over with a mulch of straw.

Thanks,

Martha

Comments (7)

• veilchen
    18 years ago

My client has some that have run amok. They must have come from an original planting of pansies, and have seeded themselves all over. They bloom in the spring-early summer, kind of go dormant in the heat, then start to grow and bloom again end of summer til Nov. I believe most of them overwinter, but it doesn't matter because they seed themselves with abandon. Most are in the purple shade, but some variations of light violet, reddish violet, white.

They are actually a nuisance and I hesitate to give them to anyone. They seed themselves like a weed, I have never seen anything like it. You're welcome to some if you want to contact me next spring. I mulched her garden good this fall but I'm sure there will still be zillions coming up.

ps--has anyone else had a problem with pansies being invasive?

• marthacr
    Original Author
    18 years ago

So would you consider them to be a living mulch? I don't want something that's going to turn into another goutweed, rudbeckia, or witchgrass! If they are easily pulled out like forget-me-nots, feverfew or poppies, then I would take some, gladly!
    BTW, my birthday is August 18th, and my gardens sound a LOT like yours! Must be something about Leos. Has anyone ever seen a gardener's horoscope done?
    Martha

• maineman
    18 years ago

Veilchen,

We had trouble with violas becoming invasive. They spread from the flower bed into the lawn where they still live because they grow underneath the lawnmower. I guess they eventually will spread into the nearby woods and become a wild flower.

MM

• maineman