Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
treehouse_gw

WANTED: Signs, signs

treehouse
17 years ago

Please everyone put a sign on your vehicle that has your screen name and your human name on it. It will make it so much easier to do a drop and run for the prearranged swaps.

Also, on prearranged items put a to and from note on it. Makes things easier.

Can you tell I am into 'Easier'?

Jan

Comments (6)

• giverny
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I also staple the to/from note (with a list of the plants I'm giving) to a bag, which holds the plant(s). Like Jan said, it makes things much easier both at the swap and when the person gets home and is going over everything received.

• dawnstorm
    17 years ago

Hmm, am I human?

• donnap99
    17 years ago

Not that I mind doing so, but just wondering - put a sign on my van even if I don't have any pre-arranged swaps? I'm a complete newbie - just refound this site about 2 weeks ago.

• heyruthie
    17 years ago

"put a sign on my van even if I don't have any pre-arranged swaps? "

I'd say yeah--because that way you can direct someone to your vehicle to either take or drop off plants if you're not right there. Ya know: "Yes, I have some irises in the back of my car--the blue Camry. Go and take some! Oh wait. There are 4 blue Camrys here.....OK--the one with my GW name on it!"

• chrismd
    17 years ago

This is from the FAQ. I was going to delete the line about every swap being cold and rainy, but the forecast as of today is for rain on Friday night. We'll see. Appropriate dress may be tank top and flip flops.

chrisMD

**More Free Advice: Helpful Hints for the Day of the Swap**

1. Sign in with the swap organizer. If you need to find someone, check the sign-in list to see if they've arrived.

2. Wear a nametag. Put your Gardenweb name on it, and your real name if you want. Remember - you know what you look like but we don't, and our mental image of you is usually quite different from reality.