Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rfbcville

when to plant veg garden, plus seeds or plants?

rfbcville
17 years ago

I am new to vegetable gardening (except for a bit of lettuce & corn when I was a kid in CA) and new to Virginia, and would like to know when I can start planting. I have a chart showing when certain vegetables are available at farmers' markets. From that I am guessing now is time for peas and asparagus, maybe turnips and greens? Tomatoes are also on the list - but which variety will grow best?

I built a 4 x 8 raised bed last year & ammended clay soil with compost & dirt etc so hopefully things will grow, but planting seeds seems so intimidating. In Charlottesville, we have had some 75 degree days, but also some lows in 40's. My neighbor said 1st of May, but I've also heard mid april. Any suggestions about where to go to purchase locally - ie within an hour or so? Thanks

Comments (3)

• billjoebob
    17 years ago

Hello,

You should be in Zone 7a, or 7b.
    I would spend the next two weeks getting your beds ready and by the 15th of April you should be safe to plant almost anything out except for maybe very tender tropicals we use for annuals. I live in Alexandria and start April 1st, but I am also very close to the water which helps me a great deal.

• drscottr
    17 years ago

Hello

One of the biggest mistakes would be to be over eager. I've wasted lots of seedlings by putting them in the garden too early.

I live in Owings Mills - Northwest of Baltimore City out in Baltimore County.

The cold weather plants can be planted out now - Cabbage first, then Broccoli, Cauliflower, and Brussel Sprouts. They should do fine even with a light frost. Might not hurt to cover the bed with a light agrifiber which gives 4 degrees of protection but lets in most of the sunlight.

Peas can be direct seeded this week but they'll do just as well if you wait another 10 days.