Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
californian_in_dc

Recommendation for plant installation

californian_in_dc
17 years ago

Hello,

This is my first time on the Garden forums. (I have been frequenting the Home forums while building our house.) Now, I have 1/2 acre and a landscape plan but no source to go to purchase the trees and plants and to do the plant installation.

As a very novice gardener, I am too intimidated to try to plant the trees (most are 6' - 7' and some are 5'-6') specified myself and I need about 50 of them. Can anyone recommend a garden center or landscaper who could help us? I assume we need someone close by in Mclean, VA where we live, but I am happy to work with someone further away, if that is practical. I don't how far you can transport trees economically.

Any general advice you can provide or specific recommendations would be very much appreciated. Thank you!

Comments (19)

• thistle5
    17 years ago

Wow, 50 trees sound like alot for a 1/2 acre, I'm sure you're going for screening now, but eventually they'll be too large for your yard, I think. (I have a half acre myself, w/ a few mature trees & it's hard to squeeze in all the plants I want). I work at a local garden center, we have alot of unusual varieties, & quite a few people on the staff w/ a great deal of horticultural knowledge.

This is also the busiest time of the year, if you call ahead of time, we can try to set up a time for you to talk with someone about your garden, & our landscape crew is great. I work at Holly, Woods, & Vines, & have no stake in the business, other than that I work there, & I think it's a great garden center...

• cynthia_gw
    17 years ago