Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mdrugbymom

Newbie needs help!

mdrugbymom
16 years ago

Hi all, I'm pretty new to actual gardening, although I've spent years cutting out photos & driving around looking at wonderful yards... now that I have two toddlers who are fascinated by digging, planting seeds in pots, and watching stuff grow, I'd like to jump in with both feet & have gardening be something they grow up with, and learn to love.

I live in the Aspen Hill area of Silver Spring (20906) and in 2002 planted Leland Cyprus Trees around the perimeter of the fence. In 2003 I planted Laurels & pyracantha (mostly to hide the swimming pool pump and heater etc.,) had no idea how prolific pyracantha can be, but love the birds it brings to the garden!

In 2004 I put in a couple of raised beds against the house, one for herbs, but made the big mistake of planting Mint in it, not realizing that it too grows like a weed and takes over everything. In the other I put a couple of rose bushes, and some bulbs. I also laid my own flag stone patio area, and planted some thyme and creeping jenny between a few of the stones. (Is there a way to propagate either of these easily)? I'd love to have lots more.

I have two large yellow labs, who have killed patches of the grass, and I'm wondering can I, in the parts that are dead dig it up and put in some fast spreading ground cover - and if so, can it be mowed over like the rest of the yard, or would we have to avoid those parts?

I'm actually from Ireland, and love the "cottage garden" look, so I'd love to have sweeping borders of flowers against my fence & would love some suggestions on how to do this. My yard is basically all clay, so I'll probably have to start by putting in raised beds.

I love the overgrown look, climbers, and plants close together, and I'm a tad impatient, so I want big bursts of color pretty much immediately! Can anyone give me some suggestions of what grows really well here, and what will reseed itself?