Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lilcrowgirl

Newbie has Lots of Questions

lilcrowgirl
17 years ago

Hello!

I am a newbie to the Marlyand gardening scene...well, that is certainly true because I live in an apartment in Baltimore with a balcony that receives bright afternoon sunlight but that has nonetheless managed to negatively impact my plants...And I've never posted anywhere before so please forgive me if I miss some unwritten protocol.

I consider "Grapey", my 5-year old grapefruit tree grown from a seed, to be my crowning horticultural accomplishment. Difficult plants intrigure me.

Anyway, can you all recommend a garden center? I come from Pennsylvania and North Carolina and nothing that I have found in the 'burbs of BMore can compare to SKH, Country Markets, or the back alleys of Asheville in quality, quantity of unusual plants, or price. Even in the worst of times, being able to escape for a few hours to one of these stores has been a great de-stresser. I know that there must be a little palace of awesomeness tucked away somewhere....

Also, what do green-thumbers do for fun(when not in the garden)? It looks like there are some great, inspirational places like the National Arboretum, etc. Is there anything that one needs to know before going? Do they ever have sales? How does one get involved?

Does anyone in the area volunteer doing gardening work? In Asheville, we were really big on creating community gardens for the underserved, but so far I haven't been able to find any local organizations here that build gardens in their own area.

I find this whole place to be a bit strange and surreal.

Many thanks!

-crow

Comments (11)

• spanaval
    17 years ago

I am not familiar with garden centers in Maryland (other than Lilypons and Behnkes), so can't help with that, but there are some really nice gardens in that general area. HGTV had a show on some and the link is here: