Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kandhi_gw

Gardenia -Chuck Hayes (Hardy to zone 7?)

kandhi
19 years ago

I have just ordered a gardenia 'Chuck hayes' and potted it in 8inch pot. The plant looks healthy with several small buds. I came to know this is hard for zone 7. I am in Fairfax, VA. Is is safe to plant this outside in our area, has anyone had any success with this gardenia in ground in Northern Virginia, if so can you share your experiences on caring for this plant. It is hard to maintain gardenia's indoors for longer periods, they are prone to chlorosis and mealy bugs infestation. I would like to maintain this plant indoors in pot until spring and see if I can move this into ground outside or maintain in pot forever.

Comments (19)

• aka_peggy
    19 years ago

Kandhi, I'm a gardenia murdering expert. However, I've managed to keep an "August beauty" alive for nearly 2 yrs now which is a record for me. I keep it in an unheated room that gets a fair amount of morning sun.

I also have a Chuck Hayes that I planted in the fall of last yr. It isn't looking well but it's still living. I should have given it more time to acclimate by planting it out earlier in the season. Or at least I should have given it some protection during it's 1st winter.

I have a friend that lives near me that planted Chuck Hayes 2 yrs ago in our zn 6b climate and his is doing fine. He did plant it in a protected area tho.

C Hayes is reputed to survive zn 7 winters so if I was you, I'd go for it.

• kandhi
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Aka Peggy - Thanks for the info, I will try to plant this in ground in April or May and will take a chance to see. I do not know what other problems gardenia's face when they are planted in ground. I need to check on that also.

• meevans3
    19 years ago