Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jomama49

Catalog sales good way to go?

jomama49
17 years ago

Hi All,

I am fairly new to gardening, have been slowly getting hooked over the last few seasons. Now I can hardly wait for the weather to clear so I can get good and dirty in the yard. I would like opinions about ordering perennials from catalogs. Right now I'm thinking about lavender, echinacea and maybe shasta daisy. Any favorite catalog vendors or vendors to avoid? Or is it better to buy from local bricks n mortar businesses?

Thanks,

Jo

Comments (6)

• spanaval
    17 years ago

I do the vast majority of my plant buying online. Mostly because I get better variety and good prices that way. Bluestone perennials is a very good resource. They have excellent service, coupons and money back guarantees. I've had excellent luck with Green Mountain Transplants. Very healthy plants, *excellent* prices. But, customer service can be spotty.

Most of what you're looking for doesn't sound too exotic, so if you have good local resources, you may want to price them first. If you can come to the Spring swap (assuming you live in driving distance), you can get some good plants for free. For example, I can definitely bring some Shasta Daisy Becky. Also, be careful with the lavender; most do not tolerate our soil conditions.

Before you buy from *any* online vendor, check them out on the Garden Watchdog. I've given the link below

Here is a link that might be useful: Garden Watchdog

• watergal
    17 years ago

For plants such as the ones you mention that aren't rare, I go for the local nursery every time. You will get a larger plant for the same or lower price, plus you don't have to pay shipping and risk damage or erratic temperatures in the mail. I only go the catalog route for rare things I lust after that I doubt I'll find locally. And even a lot of the rare things show up locally a few years later if I can be patient enough!

• jomama49
    Original Author
    17 years ago