Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
antiqueorchid

gardengranma's location

antiqueorchid
15 years ago

I am new to GW and I am interested in the spring MAG swap. Where is this swap located. I am near the area and definitely want to go. How can I get more info on this swap?

Thanks,

Denise

Comments (5)

• collectordi
    15 years ago

The swap is in Burtonsville, MD. 15716 Allnutt Lane, next to the last house on left.
    From Rt. 95 towards or from Baltimore - Take exit to Burtonsville, Rt. 198 - go through Burtonsville (cross Rt. 29) continue on Rt. 198 past cemetary. Turn right on Allnutt Lane. Last house on left, brick rambler.
    From Beltway (495), take Colesville Rd. (Rt. 29) towards Columbia, take exit to Burtonsville (new interchange!) Turn left on Rt. 198, across 29, past cemetary, turn right on Allnutt, etc.

From Rockville: Take Norbeck Rd which becomes Rt. 198 after New Hampshire. Past church and tree farm, turn left on Allnutt, etc.

• kimka
    15 years ago

This is a very informal swap. "Wants" and "Haves" lists have been posted already on the Exchanges page. You post what you have there and what you are looking for if you are organized enough to do so. People email each other and you arrange between yourselves for a "pre-arranged trade."

Otherwise bring plants, garden magazines, garden tools, pots, etc., to the swap, which usually kicks off about 10 a.m.. Please mark all of your plants with what they are. Prearranged trades get marked with the person's name. Plants do not have to be potted. If you don't have time to pot, just shovel the plant and enough moist soil so they don't dry out into plastic bags. Try not to bring any diseased plants to the swap.

People just walk around, collect their prearranged trades, gossip, pick up "available plants" and other stuff, gossip, repeat. Then we eat the potluck.