Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mommy2noah_gw

What seeds are good to sow/plant now (April)?

mommy2noah
19 years ago

I'm a newbie gardener and I just seem to be making mistake after mistake. Just today, I started a bunch of Shasta Daisy seeds in a pot thinking that they would bloom this summer only to find out they're perennial and won't bloom the first year (Why didn't it say that on the seed package??!!)Argh!

I've been to the local nursery many, many times in the past couple of weeks and always end up paying so much $$$$. Buying these small plants can really add up.

What I'm looking for now are some suggestions for seeds that:

1. Will flower this spring/summer (so annuals I guess)

2. Both sun and shade plants

3. Colorful

4. Different heights

I really like the look of cottage gardening. I like ecclectic looks with lots of color. Can anyone suggest seeds that I could sow to help my garden out?

Comments (5)

• mommy2noah
    Original Author
    19 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Also, what can I do now with the potted Shasta Daisy seeds that I have? What will they look like when they start sprouting? Do I just plant them even though they won't flower? Will they look ok?

• oaksandmaples
    19 years ago

Hello there!
    For me, part of the reward of gardening are those perennials......even waiting a year or two for them to thicken up and thrive is worth the wait! I'm one of those gardeners who goes out every morning and honestly celebrates every single new inch of growth, every bud, every new shoot. What a thrill! Of course, I absolutely LOVE color and blooms but the little new green stuff is amazing to me as well.
    Perennials will be worth your wait. Plan out your beds so you have a picture of what they will be like in 2 or 3 years. If you don't like the look of it, most perennials are pretty easy to move around.