Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
peckle918

shrubs/hedges for hiding purposes

peckle918
14 years ago

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the gardening world (one of the new-found joys of home ownership), and I was wondering if I get some advice. My house is surrounded by 70 ft oaks that allow for some sunlight, but not full sunlight. Our backyard leading up to the house is sloped down with a drop-off right before hitting our house. Because of the slope, I cannot get back in there to do regular maintenance of about 1/3 acre of land. This provides for an unsightly view from the windows facing that way. I'd like to put something (shrubs or hedges, preferably no trees) right before the drop off that will be more pleasing on the eyes than the dead leaves and jungle growing back there. I'm looking for something that is about 3-4 ft in height, grows pretty fast, dense, has leaves that stay all year round, can be pleasing on the eyes, and needs to line around 80 feet.

Our initial thought was using privet hedges or canadian hemlocks. Does this seem like a good option, or are they going to grow too tall? (I do plan on using a hedge trimmer at least once or twice a year if necessary to maintain height and aesthetics). Personally, I would like something that is a bit more colorful or pleasing to the eye, but I can't seem to find something that will have leaves year-round and grows well in partial sunlight, and most importantly, won't break the bank.

It seems there are decent deals on privet hedges and canadian hemlocks, so that I would be able to cover that area for under $75-100. Are there any other options?

Thank you all in advance for your help! Oh yeah, I live in King of Prussia (right outside of Philadelphia) and it is Zone 6.

Comments (3)

• leslies
    14 years ago

I think your best bet is a mix of shrubs and small trees that are OK in some shade - not planted in a line, but like woods: one here and one there all the way to the drop-off.