Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jeanleecole

garden mysteries

jeanleecole
19 years ago

Hello--

I am encountering the mysteries of a formerly well established, but new to me, small urban garden (Baltimore). (Between the previous gardening owner & me the garden was completely neglected for 2 years.) I am also pretty new to gardening in this region so don't know plants or predators very well.

Mystery #1: a small (5-6" high) plant came up in one of the beds and is currently flowering. The leaves are a roundish almond shape (slightly pointed at the ends), and there is a cluster of small deep pink bell-shaped flowers at the end of each stalk. I saw these plants blooming in the wild in a wooded park north of town ... anyone know what this is? Is it a "weed" or something I want to encourage? If the latter, I'd like to move it to a better place. Should I do it now? once it stops blooming? or wait until fall? It's very pretty now, but since the garden is so small I want to nip anything invasive in the bud, so to speak.

Mystery #2: I ordered some toad lilies by mail and put them out about 3 weeks ago. One by one, each of them has been mowed down to the ground. Nothing else in the garden shows any sign of damage--including pre-existing asiatic lilies that are coming up right next to where I planted the toad lilies. What is eating (or I should say, ate) them? Is there any hope that the lilies will come back, or should I write them off?

Any thoughts/clues/answers would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Jean in Balto

Comments (8)

• vladpup
    19 years ago

G'Day!
    - Is Mystery #1 a broadleafed evergreen or did it lose all its leaves laqst fall and is growing new? Are the newly opened blooms a bit sticky? If the former, it's a member of the laurel family, practically all of which are quite desirable. Some, such as very pretty white-and-pink "lamb-kill," are poisenous, but not attractive to nibbling (ie, "deer-proof" but not to worry about having them about.)