Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dgs9r

Moving to Baltimore City

dgs9r
18 years ago

Hi All,

We are moving to Baltimore soon, and I wanted to say Hello! I am an amateur gardner from Durham, NC, and I learned a lot from the gardenweb sites over the years here.

While I was here, I planted an antique rose garden in my front lawn, that the neighbors simply love. It is very rewarding for me when I see their pleasure!

I also created new beds using lasagne successfully. Also wintersowed successfully, and will do so again. All learned from Gardenweb.

I am very excited to be moving to Baltimore, although a little cautious about the longer winter (raised in the Tropics). We are currently looking for homes in Baltimore city. One thing I really need to survive the cold there is to plant some early or winter blooming plants and trees.

Can anyone advise what are the earliest flowering trees and plants? The very earliest. Anything at all in Jan/Feb/March?

Thanks so much!

Deepti

Comments (11)

• radagast
    18 years ago

Welcome to Maryland!

Not sure of exactly the earliest flowering plants and trees, though forsythia flower in early to mid March with yellow flowers.

One tree I can tell you NOT to plant is any sort of flowering pear. "Bradford" "Cleveland" "Aristocrat" etc. They flower very early with white (often foul-smelling) flowers, but they are horrible trees. Short-lived, prone to falling apart, and invasive pests since the varieties crossbreed with each other to produce lots of pesty seedlings. Sadly, they are still sold and planted all over the place down here even as they escape into the wild.

You'd be much better off with a dogwood, cherry tree, or crabapple of some sort if you want a flowering tree.

• spanaval
    18 years ago

If you plant things that bloom late into the fall, a few that have winter interest, and others that bloom early spring, you can have interest in the garden for a really long time.