Return to the Mid-Atlantic Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Beginner in need of advice!

Posted by kitchen_maman none (My Page) on
Tue, Apr 30, 13 at 18:39

Hello everyone! I am not new to garden web as I participate on the house forums, but I am new to the garden forums and I hope you all can help me.

I live just outside of Washington, D.C. In Maryland--inside the beltway. We just finished a large renovation on our little rambler. We live in a mature close in community, sidewalk and nice trees (lots of dogwoods and mature weeping cherries).

I have a lot of ideas, but I am going to take it slowly. I love the idea of stepables. I thought I might use them to boarder our new porch-pictured below. Is it a good idea? I would also like to use them mixed with Lilly's, tulips and daffodils lining my walkway.

The two that I love, and am thinking of using as a boarder are Saponaria x oliviana Cushion Soapwort and Arabis Old Gold Rockcress. One of them says it is good for zone 5, but I cannot find out if a zone 5 plant is okay to plant in zone 7.

To give you an idea of some of the things we want to do: We are asking the county to plant either a white flowering dogwood or a kousa dogwood. We also want a dwarf wearing cherry in the front replacing the poor overgrown shrubs ( neglected first by the elderly original owner and then by us because we knew we were going to take them out).

I would love to hear your thoughts and ideas!

Our exterior
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Saponaria x oliviana Cushion Soapwort

Arabis Old Gold Rockcress

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Beginner in need of advice!

• Posted by gerris2 Zone 7a Delaware (My Page) on
    Thu, May 2, 13 at 16:34

I think the border you plan to install would be quite attractive. I'm not really a landscape person so can't add anything more. It's nice the county will install a tree for you.

Joseph

o

Why not consider one of the local native dogwoods instead of the kousa, which is an Asian import.