Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wtgxi

garden tools advice needed

wtgxi
18 years ago

As a newbie, I was wondering what are some basic garden tools would you consider as you can't live without.

Thanks

Wendy

Comments (14)

• kimka
    18 years ago

I can't live without my straight edge shovel, my rake (the straight across kind), leaf rake (the triagular shaped one) and my weeder. And a wheel barrow or garden cart (both have their own advantages, but if you get a wheel barrow make sure you get a metal barrow, not a plastic one).

• laine713
    18 years ago

Don't forget a good trowel. As you get further into your gardening/landscaping, the other tools can be purchased. Always buy the ones that are sturdy and the length of the tool, whether it is rakes or shovels, is good ergonomically correct for you.

• wtgxi
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks for all the replies. I forgot to ask what do you use to separate flowers / blubs without hurting them too much? Is it necessary to have a hoe / cultivate necessary?

thanks in advance

• creatrix
    18 years ago

I divide flowers with a sharp apade. Bulbs I dig and pull apart (since I wait until they are dormant and the roots have dried a bit on them as well). Some folks dig the entire flower up and divide with a knife.

I have another favorite tool- I call it a digging stick- its a simple tool with a fishtail shaped end for digging up weeds. They cost about $3. I have really good luck getting weeds up root and all with it. I have the 12" kind,but I have also seen a 3' variety.