Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dorry2

Purple Palace Coral Bells

dorry2
18 years ago

Anyone from Maryland have success with this perennial? I purchased several this year for the foilage and oak-like leaves, but the tag says full sun...in my reading, it sounds like these plants do better in shade and moist soil. If I planat these in my west garden, I think they will fry.

Your thoughts?

Comments (10)

• rosewomann
    18 years ago

Mine are in moist shade & love it!

Rose

• GeeDavey
    18 years ago

I have 20 or so in moist shade. They are looking great in their second season.

• laine713
    18 years ago

Exactly what they said..

• Brent_In_NoVA
    18 years ago

I just purchased a 'Palace Purple' at the VA Swap and put it in my shade garden. Last year I planted some Heuchera ('Ruby Bells' maybe...green leaves and red flowers) in a mostly sunny location and they are doing great. I am pretty new to Heuchera but they seem like a wonderful and versatile plant.

- Brent

• jerkymom
    18 years ago

I bought 2 of these 5 years ago from a local nursery. As a gardening newbie at the time, the tag was marked full sun, so I planted them accordingly. The leaves curled up and browned around the edges, becoming shriveled and "crispy". They were well mulched and got plenty of water, but still looked like they were frying. I moved both plants to a location behind my house which gets only about 2 hours of intense afternoon sun before the house shades them (west side), and they've done very well. They've survived some pretty harsh winters here in rural western MD...lol The foliage is now 12" tall and 18" in diameter, so they do seem to grow pretty slowly here, but I like the bronze color and shape of the leaves.

• cfmuehling
    18 years ago

I have several and they bore me. Mine are actually in part shade to help them retain their color. Unfortunately, they green up in our heat.