Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eileen123_gw

Planting a Bleeding heart

eileen123
17 years ago

I purchased a nice Bleeding heart plant today mainly with the idea I would plant it in a pot for the deck. DH informed me that our deck is mostly full sun. Now I must find another place to plant. I am thinking about the side of our house which is morning sun but the question is does this need to be staked up or should I let it hang down? I guess I should mention I am fairly new to gardening. So please bare with me and Thanks for any help.

Comments (11)

• blueheron
    17 years ago

You don't need to stake a bleeding heart. Their branches are sturdy enough not to need it. Morning sun will be a good place for your plant.

Actually it would be difficult to grow a bleeding heart in a pot. They have very long tap roots that would soon outgrow a pot. They are a woodland plant that grow best unbound.

• eileen123
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thanks blueheron for your reply! I hope I do not sound silly with my questions but I am a newbie as far as gardening goes. My hubby does all the planting and he really likes trees. My reason for staking the plant, is that the plant I got has one really long branch which seems kind of flimsy. I am not familiar with how they grow and what to do with the long branch. It has such beautiful flowers. I really hope it takes off and grows really well.

• blueheron
    17 years ago

Hi, Eileen. You don't sound silly at all. We're all learning on these forums.

You can deadhead the branch when the flowers start to drop off. You might get some volunteer seedlings from the dropped seeds. Good luck with your bleeding heart. They are neat perennials.

• cynthia_gw
    17 years ago