Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
silver78_gw

Where are the Japanese Beetles?

silver78
18 years ago

I live in Montgomery County MD. I have been using the beetle traps for several years now. In prior years I put out the traps and they filled up fast. This year I put out the traps about 10 days ago and almost nothing. And yes - I replaced the bait with new bait.Where are the Japanese Beetles? Anyone else notice the same thing?

Comments (41)

• alfie_md6
    18 years ago

I noticed one in my yard two days ago, pretty much at the same time as I noticed one last year. The two years before that, I didn't notice any in my yard until the last week of June. I'm in upcounty Montgomery County.

Incidentally, the conventional wisdom on Japanese beetle traps is that you will get more Japanese beetles in your yard -- and more beetle damage -- if you use the traps than if you don't. What you really want is for your neighbor to put up traps :-).

• watergal
    18 years ago

They're starting to munch on the hardy hibiscus in my yard, just in the last few days. Hope they don't get too bad before I can spray this weekend. Last year they defoliated them so badly several times that one died. Evil things!

• ellieandethansmom
    18 years ago

Watergal, what do you spray with? I used Sevin last year dusted on some plants but recently heard that it kills earthworms too (not good in my newly established garden). What do you have luck with, and how often do you use it?

• spanaval
    18 years ago

Saw the first of those eeevil critters today. E&E'smom, I'm not sure if it is worthwhile spraying them. I just go around knocking them off into a mug of soapy water, and will admit to taking a certain amount of pleasure in watching them die.

Suja

• cfmuehling
    18 years ago

They were chomping so badly on my crape myrtles, that this year I'm going to try the traps. I have absolutely nothing to use.