Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
watergal_gw

Japanese Beetle question

watergal
16 years ago

OK, the beetles have been very sparse in my yard this year. I'm wondering if others are having the same experience, maybe because of the drought?

Or is it the fact that I've been treating with Bayer Tree & Soil drench for the last several years? I got it on early enough this year, and I'm not seeing the beetles eating my hibiscus flowers or crepe myrtle or red maple like they usually do.

Comments (12)

• cynthia_gw
    16 years ago

I don't think I've seen more than a dozen JBs this year. My Hibiscus Moscheuto are just starting to bloom and it's amazing to think I'll be able to enjoy the blossoms without damage. Have never noticed that they bothered crepe myrtle or acers though.

• lynn_d
    16 years ago

They must all be in W. PA because they have done a number on my Harry Lauder's Walking Stick, Weeping Cherry tree, roses and morning glories. I finally resorted to spraying them, something I have not had to do for at least 6 years. They were heading to my cannas and had to be stopped.

• alfie_md6
    16 years ago

I had almost no Japanese beetles this year either. I never got the beetle bowl out once. I am not complaining!

• annebert
    16 years ago

I think there are much fewer this year. It probably goes back to what the conditions were for overwintering pupae. My guess is the cold winter did them in.

• kaffeina
    16 years ago

really? i was wondering if the lack of rain was the issue, i've only seen a couple and was wondering about it myself

• aka_peggy
    16 years ago

"My guess is the cold winter did them in."

Maybe the ones up in Maine are more cold hardy because the frigid winters there doesn't seem to affect their populations.

For me the numbers were down last year and again this year. My ag extension agent thinks it's the drought.

Whatever it is, I'm not complaining either!

• gardnwatch
    16 years ago

That is amazing.