Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alfie_md6

Who's growing Baker Creek Thai Pink Egg tomatoes?

alfie_md6
19 years ago

Baker Creek Seeds sent them out free with every order. To me, they taste about as good as the tomatoes you get on your hamburger at Burger King. (Meaning, not at all.) I'm putting them in the compost for now, and the whole plant is going in the compost next week, if they don't improve.

I'm a bit baffled by Baker Creek's business strategy in sending out free seeds for such a lousy variety, though. According to the catalog, "the crisp pink fruit are bursting with natural goodness, sweet and rich." It makes me wonder about the accuracy of their descriptions for all of their other seeds.

The one lemon cucumber I've picked so far went in the compost too, but the seeds came from Southern Exposure, not Baker Creek, and I paid for them. If the cucumbers continue inedible, I will pull them up too, which at least will solve my usual cucumber worry, which is insane excess :-). Plus there will be more room for the fall crops...

Comments (7)

• alfie_md6
    Original Author
    19 years ago

The lemon cucumbers are good, it turns out, but you have to pick them when they are no bigger than an egg, at the latest. By the time they are lemon-sized, it's too late. Actually, very small cucumbers is a benefit, because it reduces the total cucumber biomass :-).

• aka_peggy
    19 years ago

Alfie,

I grew one of those Thai pink egg toms from Baker Creek also and agree they're tasteless and yes they'll soon be compost.

Some folks on the tomato forum often report significant differences in the taste of even the more highly rated types from 1 yr to the next...or 1 month to the next. However, I don't hold out much hope for this one. And catalog descriptions are so often such a joke aren't they? (ever wonder about the descriptions that have no comments about the taste?)

• alfie_md6
    Original Author
    19 years ago