Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
abigail99_gw

Help with tree recommendation?

abigail99
18 years ago

Hi all, I'd greatly appreciate some help picking a tree. I am a rank amateur, but I need to replace a dead tree in my front yard. I wonder if you know of anything that will meet my criteria:

* zoned for DC metro area

* mature height 20-30ft

* not "Christmas tree" shaped, more spreading or rounded-type

* Can stand fronting onto a majorly trafficked road

* Doesn't require an enormous amount of maintenance and is as disease-proof as possible since gardening is not my strong suit

* Prefer evergreen, but deciduous OK

* Doesn't drop anything too messy as it will be next to the driveway where we park

* as fast growing as possible

* Looks nice alone since there's only room for one.

Does such a beast exist? Thanks so much.

Comments (16)

• igozoom
    18 years ago

I was thinking Holly until you added:

"Doesn't drop anything too messy as it will be next to the driveway where we park"

...which rules out a lot of trees.

Also, fast growing to a MAXIMUM height of 20-30 ft is tough. Most fast growing trees keep going. A magnolia might fit the bill, but it's a slow grower. Are you looking for shade or just screen?

take a lok at http://www.nature-by-design.com/ they are a native company that will be opening a store in Alexandria soon. They are really good at finding natives to fit your troublesome location.

I don't work for them, but that's where all my best plants have come from.

Here is a link that might be useful: Nature by design

• Kathy46
    18 years ago

I have a really cool weeping cherry that fits the bill. The only time they're messy is in the spring right after blooming it looks like pink snow. I'm not too sure they're disease resistant though.

Kathy

• abigail99
    Original Author
    18 years ago