Return to the Mid-Atlantic Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Location for Camellia in Zone 7 Maryland

Posted by woodyland Z7_MD (My Page) on
Tue, Nov 20, 07 at 11:52

I just got two big Camellia bushs from a local nursery here in montgomery county, Maryland and was wondering what location is best for them. They are trained on a trellis so I can plan them close to the house wall. Our house is north-south facing with brick wall on three sides. Can they survive on the northside of the front wall, which has no sun light for about 4-5months and then partial shade during summer? I read from a book that east facing should be avoid in cold climate due to the freeze and thaw damage for the camellia. Thanks

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Location for Camellia in Zone 7 Maryland

I doubt that a northern exposure is any better than east. I'd think west or south with a little protection in the first year or two for the hot afternoon sun so there is no sunburn on the leaves.

o

I'm no expert but I have one Camellia planted on the North side of my house. Why don't you post your question on the Camellia forum?

o

That's interesting - Carroll Gardens just did a newsletter article (which I can't find) that suggested east facing as an ideal site for camellia. If you go to www.carrollgardens.com and search for camellias, you can read up on their suggestions.

o

I have a gorgeous camellia just starting to open its bright pink blooms (the home's previous owner planted it, so I'm not sure of the variety, but it blooms in November and December). It is in the southeast corner of our house (in LaPlata), where it gets some morning sun and not much else due to shading from the porch and wall. Nevertheless, it is doing great.

o

Hey, I just found the newsletter info. Here it is. I've been wanting one for ages but can't find a good spot in my small yard for it. :( I was in Mississippi last January and they were blooming everywhere!

Camellia japonica 'Korean Fire'