Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eddie980

Tropical Milkweed under grow light issues.

eddie980
10 years ago

Hello fellow gardeners. This is my first year growing plants under grow lights. So I decided to grow some Asclepias Curassavica (commonly called Tropical Milkweed) for the Monarch butterflies (their host plant). The plants look great and are growing faster then expected. But most of the plants are starting to form little red spots or red edges around most of the leaves especially the bottom leaves. Eventually the leaves will turn a pretty yellowish red and fall off. What could this be? The plants seem fairly healthy except for this.
Here's some back ground information on them.
-They're under fluorescent grow lights ( the Jump start T5 brand)
-They're about 5 inches from the light
- They take about 16 hours of light a day.
-They're considered full to partial sun plants
-They like moist soil.
I think the problem might be the light. But would love suggestions. Thanks Ed.

Comments (11)

• eddie980
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Here's another view of the plants leaves (notice edges). This picture was taken before I thinned out some plants.

• eddie980
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Well, what I decided to do is remove the aluminum foil from the sides of the grow light. I heard aluminum foil helps give the plants more light. But maybe tropical milkweed plants don't care to much for a lot of light. Although they are full sunlight plants. Will see. If anyone knows what might be causing these red spots comments would be great. Thanks :^)

• cghpnd
    10 years ago

I was actually Just looking for an answer to this. I have the same issue.
    I just noticed that my milkweed that was being wintersown had started sprouting. I brought them in and put them under lights. A few of the seedlings are about 3 inches tall. They've gotten the same thing your describing. I wonder what it is.