Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
clarkii_gw

Amending garden soil, delivery

clarkii
12 years ago

I'm new to gardening in MN, just purchased 6 acres in Lino last year. I was hoping to get some advice for amending our garden soil this coming year. Background and details on our garden are included at the end for completeness. Thank you in advance for help! I've been a long time reader and love this forum, but this is my first post.

We have been considering getting some black dirt or compost delivered to amend our soil (mostly my husband, I think we should just go for it as-is), ~50 yards. If anyone has advice on companies, and also if anyone delivers in the winter (to avoid lawn ruts in the spring), it would be greatly appreciated. Or if someone with similar soil conditions has more specific advice...maybe we should just fertilize? With such a large garden this does get expensive, so I want to make sure I've done as much research as possible.