Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hostaholic2

Favorite Cherry Tomato

I've been perusing the plethora of offerings in the seed catalogs, and in my quest I came to wonder what everyone's favorites are especially among the cherry tomatoes. I've been growing Sweet Baby Girl for several years and have been very happy with it, but I'm always looking to try new varieties. A couple that caught my eye are Cherry Buzz and Tomatoberry Garden. Has anyone tried either of these? If not what is your favorite? Feel free to share your favorites of other veggie varieties as well.

Comments (12)

• garystpaul
    10 years ago

I'm not a huge fan of cherry tomatoes, but I always grow Sungold F1 hybrid and Black Cherry or Chocolate Cherry. This year I'll be trying out African Vining and Matt's Wild Cherry. I had Green Zebra Cherry this past season, but didn't think much of it, other than it looked good on the plate.

Gary

• soilent_green
    10 years ago

Also not a big fan of cherry tomatoes, but I do love them on the grill. I only grow one cherry variety exclusively in the garden now, an heirloom I got from an older gentleman in a nearby town who has been growing it for decades. He did not know the name anymore so I named it after him in order to keep track of it. Produces large but not excessive amounts of very uniform golf ball sized crack- and split-free cherry tomatoes that have better flavor than most I have grown in the past.