Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cosmo1_gw

Cosmos

cosmo1
17 years ago

There are so many beautiful varities of cosmos, does anyone in the Twin City area know where I can find some of the less common varieties? There's Candy stripe, psycho, etc. but all I can find around here are the sonata and the other taller ones, plus the chocolate ones. No, I don't want to do the seed starting, as I'm not too experienced and don't have the lights, etc. If anyone knows of a place that has some of these, give me a whistle! Basically all I have been able to find are the seeds. Also, I am looking for agastache purple pygmy. Anyone seen any of this? Thanks!

Comments (10)

• hoghaven_duluthmn
    17 years ago

If you do a search at "Dave's Garden" you can find just about any plant and a list of vendors that sells it. Many of the cosmos are easy to direct seed in the garden and do not need to be started early. You might also want to try "winter sowing" - check out the winter sowing forum. I think I will try the winter sow method this year even though it feels like spring (today, anyway).

Andie

Here is a link that might be useful: Dave's Garden

• selkie_b
    17 years ago

If you come to the GW Spring Plant Swap (don't know quite when and where yet but it'll be posted soon I'm sure) I will likely have both the pinks and white of Cosmo "Psyche" and possibly some "Daydream" Mind you, they run about 3-5 ft tall... What I miss are the little 18" orange and yellow ones my grandma and dad used to plant :)

-Marie

• Julie
    17 years ago

I have 'Bright Lights' for you both- if you want them- but they are seeds- not plants mind you....

• selkie_b
    17 years ago

I actually found that I'd grabbed some from the Seed Swap Julie! :)

-Marie

• cosmo1
    Original Author
    17 years ago