Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carmellia_gw

Hanging baskets

carmellia
15 years ago

I put five hanging baskets on my front porch last year with petunias in them. THey did very poorly. The porch faces west and the boulevard trees screen what little light there is so petunias were a bad choice. In order to get a deep red, all I can think of is impatience or wax begonias. Is there something else I'm not thinking of?

Also, even with the shade I had a difficult time keeping them well watered. I am thinking of adding pellets or something that soaks up and retains water. I have never used anything like that before. Are there any particular kinds that have worked well for you? I have cocomats in the baskets that are lined with newspaper.

Thanks for any suggestions. Last year my baskets were an embarrasment, and right there on the front porch for everyone to see.

Comments (12)

• rasslinmama
    15 years ago

I have the same problem and last year I tried the Dragon Wing Begonia with great success. I used the pinkish salmon color but this year will try the red. They flourished as nothing else ever has and were beautiful. I do use the time release water pellets but still have to water quite a bit.

• windytown
    15 years ago

I have a similar situation on my front porch. I have two large pots of plants there that get only a few hours of morning sun.

What works for me is coleus (so many fabulous colors and varieties now) New Guinea Impatiens and sweet potato vine. The coleus gives height, the vines trail and the impatiens fill in the rest. Really pretty.

• ginkgonut
    15 years ago

I like the nonstop tuberous begonias. In particular, mocha scarlet. Deep, velvety red flowers over purple foliage.

• mnwsgal
    15 years ago

How about nasturtiums? There are some nice red varieties.

Last year my nonstop tuberous begonias got mildew badly. First time with that problem.