Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
darlababy_gw

Need advice for low maintenance bed on the North side

darlababy
17 years ago

Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new to gardening, and have enjoyed reading the posts. What a wealth of information you all are! I'm not technically in Minnesota- just right across the river, so I hope I'm still accepted. :-) Question for you... What would you suggest for plants in an area on the North side of my garage? It is fairly narrow (32 inches), runs 21 feet long and gets some late afternoon sun. Since it is so narrow, I don't have much room for layering, but would like some eye-catching color as it is the first area I see when I pull up to the house. I'd like to keep it fairly simple, and don't want a lot of high maintenance plants in there. Initially I was thinking of filling it with just Annabelle Hydrangeas, but I'd like some more colors and textures to go with them. Any ideas?

Comments (9)

• rdubow
    17 years ago

Swamp Mallow???? Mine grew in mostly shade area (4 hrs sun maybe)had purple flowers and got about 2 feet tall and bloomed ALL summer last year with like 30 flowers on each plant at all times. They look great planted with Hosta right below/in front of it!

Maybe since you want color you need to look at annuals..and the ones you like you can collect seeds from and plant next year!

How much sun do you get in the area???

• Julie
    17 years ago

Try toad lilies, spider wort, balsams, unique impatiens like balfouri, talinum Jewels of Opar, leopard's bane, aruncus, astilbe, some campanulas, anemones, lilies, nicotiana,
    But don't forget the foliage plants- Hosta of course, ferns, cimicufuga, ligularia, soloman's seal, heuchera,
    Really- there are so many to choose from!
    Enjoy!

• maidofshade
    17 years ago

I'm with Julie,