Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
churchhaus

new to site/forum

churchhaus
15 years ago

hello,

i am new to the G.W. and still finding my way around the various forums etc. i was especially excited to find the MN gardening forum!

we live west of the cities, and converted an old church into our house/home. that's been an ongoing six year project, but house part just about done. working on an outdoor kitchen right now.

we have many kinds of gardens/plants/water features (including one large pond)/vegetables and a cactus garden. major garden project this year is work on a shade garden. we are never afraid to "push the zone" and have pretty good luck.

i am especially interested in finding sources for winter hardy cactus, Z5 is ok, because we do a good job of protecting them.

we live right on US HWY 12 so we get our share of "tourists" maybe some of you have stopped by.

so thanks for listening, have good gardening and a good cup of coffee.

michael

Comments (5)

• leftwood
    15 years ago

Welcome Michael!
    I'm probably not far from you: I live in St. Boni.

• crocosmia_mn
    15 years ago

Opuntia macrorhiza
    Opuntia humifusa
    Opuntia cymochila
    Opuntia fragilis (4 varieties)
    Opuntia polyacantha (6 varieties)
    Opuntia x 'Smithwick'
    Coryphantha vivipara

All at the Friends School plant sale, Mother's Day weekend at the State Fair Grandstand.

This year I am not starting a cactus garden like yours, but I am going to get some of these as part of a somewhat strange spiny & prickly garden with Echinops, Eryngium, Leonotis, Solanum pyracanthum, artichoke, etc. I am guessing that it won't look as good in real life as it does in my head...

Here is a link that might be useful: Friends School Plant Sale

• churchhaus
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks for the welcome! out a little more in Waverly.

i've already downloaded the catalogue for Friends School Plant Sale, never been there, but plan to go this year.