Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
burunx

Complete newbie here need info on morning glor&veges

burunx
14 years ago

Hello,

I live in St. Paul (55102) and have a sunny small yard. When I moved in last July there were morning glories growing. In the fall I picked some of the seeds off and put them away; now what? Should I put them in the ground or start them inside...and when can they go outside? Also, should I have left all the dried vines and seeds on the fence to drop on their own?

Second question: I have a HORRIBLE yard...it is filled with very little dirt and mostly GRAVEL; the person who lived here before wanted to park his car in the yard so he put in gravel that is about 1/2 inch in diameter or so. I would love to plant some vegies but what do I do??? I have 2 raised boxes (70x30inches). Can I put soil in them and plant or should I dig up all the gravel and put soil down? How do I know what kind of soil to use?

Sorry for all the questions but like I said I am 100% new to planting outside as this is the first time I have ever had a yard. Is there a good website where I can go to find lots of general info?

Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!

Comments (3)

• mnwsgal
    14 years ago

Depending on the type of morning glory that you had you may have volunteer plants growing from the seed that fell on the ground. I clean up the old vines and seeds in the fall to prevent lots of self seeding. Morning glories can be direct sown in the ground in early to mid-May or you can start them indoors now to be planted out after the last frost (Mid May for MN though many wait until the end of May).

I grow vegetables in raised beds as well as in the ground. How deep are your raised boxes? If I remember right Mel Bartholomew suggests 6" of good soil works well for square foot gardening. You can search "raised beds" to find more info. Go to the bottom of the discussion page and find the search box then put raised beds in the box and hit go.

• kaptainkr
    14 years ago